Science Forums

Chemistry of Paint & Pigments

Turtle

;) ___I'm no chemist; it is one of my weakest areas of knowledge. I have a passing knowledge of chemistry however through the vein of geology, & this brings us to the point of this thread.

___Last year I began painting, an art I had seldom practised, and I chose acrylic paint on canvas as my media. My subject matter(visit the Science Gallery) requires vivid color, at least I prefer it, & being a novice I had to evaluate the available products in the store. Without naming names, I found a considerable difference in price for an equal volume tube of acrylic paint; anywhere from $5 a tube to $13. Why the difference?

___Well, as far as I have determined, it has to do with the pigment used. For example, I bought "Cadmium" Red, Orange, & Yellow as opposed to the same colors not using Cadmium. Plenty of warnings on the tube concerning the toxicity of Cadmium.

____The upshot is, the other pigments simply do not have the vibrancy & color retention as their Cadmium pigment counterparts. What to do?

___In reading one of the biographies on Leonardo DaVinci, they presented considerable discussion on his mastery of making paints & it all just seems a fascinating body of knowledge now that I have started painting. Any chemists care to comment?

Use what you desire for your art. Ignore the Enviro-whiners. Don't put brushes in your mouth.
That's right. If you are truly commited to your art, you should be willing to die for it anyway....Lead will give you brighter colors and if you're into texture, you can do interesting things with fiberglass and asbestos too.... :eek:

Cheers,

Buffy

___Well Buff that is probably a bit of tounge in cheek huh? Nonetheless, I as an artist admit to an obsessive/compulsive element in producing art, but I try to keep in mind that fact & not create a hazardous condition.