Science Forums

Spontaneous human combustion

paigetheoracle

With regards to the above subject, a blue flame is mentioned in a lot of cases. This leads me to ask, is it as some have suggested, that it is alcohol related? (Think of burning brandy on a Christmas pudding). If this is the case, have any incidents occurred in Islamic countries, where alcohol is banned and what colour have the flames been described as, if so?

Failing the alcohol connection, what chemicals in the human body burn blue or failing that what chemical reaction, combining various elements in the human body, has a flame of this colour? (If I'm wrong about a large percentage of cases mentioning flames of this hue, please correct me as it's not a subject I'm an expert in).

A blue burning flame is usually the hottest part of the flame.

Actually, I heard that humans really don't drink enough alcohol to catch on fire. Perhaps if the amount of alcohol you have in your body rivaled that of the 80% water humans usually have...

I'm not sure enough conclusive studies have been done on burning separate pieces of the human body to be of use.

exactly what cases have you looked into?

I saw a TV program about it some years ago. I can't find a link, but I expect it's out there somewhere.

The cases they'd picked up on were weird: usually just part of the body had burned, with scorching to the furniture actually in contact with the corpse. The rest of the room showed smoke damage only, as if the fire hadn't been very big or very hot. Yet the body itself had been consumed to ash, with even the bones crumbling to the touch. Very often it was just the mid-section of the body which had burned, leaving the arms/legs virtually undamaged.