Science Forums

Movies and Music

TINNY

I found this pretty interesting:

http://www.rmhiherbal.org/review/2002-1.html

the psychological effects are started in the "Mozart effect"

the most interesting part, i think is the "Harmful effects of rock music on neuronal branching patterns in mice"

Yeah, well, the part on rock music is what rings my bogus alarm. "Rock music" is not one thing...I wonder if they played "Shine on you crazy diamond"? Nah, with "rock" these guys probably think about anything that sounds alien to their ears.

I have been a musician all my life and have also studied it (Bachelor of Music in Performance) so I feel safe when commenting about music. However, the impact of music on our social behaviour is a very difficult area.

The most important thing is that our appreciation of music varies. Everyone likes different kinds of music, we oall own a unique mix of albums and mp3s. We go to a unique mix of concerts, we watch a unique mix of movies (you get my point). Different cultures have very different music, yet you will find some people in every culture who maintains that only "their" music is "real" music.

For a very simple exercise in how music affects people, visit a shopping mall. It is no conicidence that they play the music they play. Soothing music is constantly on to make people relax and feel comfy, so they stay longer and buy more stuff.

Music is also an important part of communication between people, and it is also something we grow up with. Studies have shown that the songs that your parents sing for you still make you feel comfortable as a grown-up. People who have experience severe trauma and end up in coma (for example), can often be treated with music they listened to as kids.

So music is an extremely important part of our lives, both socially, historically, and politically.