Science Forums

Humans' internal chemistry is Amazing!!

Racoon

From ATP to Vestibular nuclei, the body's chemistry is facinating and very complex!

Even as we simply type on our computers, the human body is performing myriad tasks, primarily for homeostasis.

I am studying Exercise Physiology right now, and it really puts things in a new perspective.

REMEMBER THIS: Get out there and do some exercise! jogging, cycling, walking, swimming, anything, JUST DO IT! Your body will thank you!

The control of voluntary movement is complex and requires cooperation from many areas of the brain.

First, subcortical and cortical structures send signals to the association cortex, which forms a "rough draft" of planned movement. The movement plan is then sent to the cerebellum and basal ganglia which convert "rough draft" into precise temporal and excitation programs. From there it goes through the thalamus to the motor cortex, which then forwards said message down those good ol' spinal nuerons, and finally towards skeletal muscle!

There is also a feedback loop to the Central Nervous System (CNS) from muscle receptors and proprioceptors which allows for modification of those motor programs.

Everytime you participate in exercise/sport, the brain does this, but we don't usually think about it obviously.

NEXT POST I'll talk a little more about skeletal muscle;

MEANWHILE, MAKE SURE ALL YOU HYPOGRAPHITES GET ADEQUATE EXERCISE!! Its fun! or at least its good for you:)

As the New Years resolutions are getting made, I suspect this could be a popular thread!

Oh yes, the internal chemistry and structure is definatly amaising. Another thing to remember when working out is to target the muscle types you need more often; white muscle and red muscle are both useful, but each has it's areas where it excells.

EXERCISE?!?!?!

With a foot and a half of freshly fallen snow, and more on the way?

Do you have any idea how cold it is out there?