Science Forums

Newbie to mac

Hi all,

from university I just received a new laptop. It is a mac.

I have never used Mac before, so I wanted to know if anyone knows some good online tutorials.

I would like a tutorial on how to use Mac in general (in the Windows kind of way) and how to use it linux-like (i.e. from comand line), if there is a difference to linux obviously :phones:

A big thanks in advance.

major difference from linux, for all intents and purposes, its a Unix-based OS (well in reality its not, but for all intents you care about, it is)

say goobai to all conveniences.

things you will want are a pms, darwin ports are ok, so you can install your much needed nix apps :)

next, you will want to set transoparency on terminal, set bg to black, so it looks like a terminal

note, you cant do a lot of system stuff with os x, there's no dmesg, there is no lspci, there is no easy way to manage devices (as in /dev/hda), there is no easy way to get to the firewall (use Watergate i think, its a mac firewall manager)

for security, download and install LittleSnitch, really, really handy application also i run ClamAV for an antivirus

you want to go through the system and delete all the useless apps that are either trialed, or you will never use... like i parted with ichat, video tools, like idvd, office trials, garage band ... iphoto might be next, just junk like that that takes up valuable space (that does not mean that there are no apps that took some spots, i use audacity and traktor extensively for my music; i use apperture 2, PS and Inkscape for pictures and drawing and stuff, and i have had no need for video tools...)

Oh download and install VLC for video, god, the best program i have, i hate quicktime (and i have PRO)...

Oh and set up your workspaces, you'll want that if you are used to nix, disable tap on mouse pad, enable scrolling using 2 fingers and disable blue tooth...