Science Forums

Schizophrenia in Children

7DSUSYstrings

Hi Folks,

This is more of a query than a discussion about something of which I'm an expert. This is a fascinating area of psychology, still I've only seen some rare instances in "Man Against Himself," by Karl Menninger, for example, where children can suffer from schizophrenia at an early age, or other psychological disorders brought about by extreme pressures from parents, per se. I'm looking into this for the sake of one child.

Einstein's first son ended up spending his life in a sanitorium because of this disoreder. It was one of his greatest fears that the genes of schizophrenia would be passed on to him from his first wife, Mileva. How soon can the symptoms show up? Most books say this usually begins in adolescence. Rarely it can happen earlier, so how can we truly know when a child is simply being a child with an imagination or they really are seeing invisible friends via halucination?

The child I'm concerned about drew something that I recognized as potentially being schizophrenic art. As of yet I've been unable to find any web sites that have examples of schizophrenic art (split faces, dismemberments, etc.) that I can use for comparison before I bring it to anyone's attention.

Can anyone here think of the right keywords for a search or know of any sites that have some of this art?

Dr. C.

I’m no expert my folks both worked with schizophrenics in the mental health field collectively for over sixty years, and my father grandfather and brother have had episodes of paranoid delusions.

My father’s paranoia was at a time centered on me because of some of my artwork as a child. I TURNED OUT JUST FINE. Opps hit the cap locks. Anyway from what I know the delusional episode’s can manifest around 17-23.