Science Forums

... and A lingering question

The D.S.

Moderator’s note: This tread was moved from the Introductions forum thread 14089, because it’s more a Theological discussion than a Introduction/greeting one.

Hey!

Well, I'm new to Hypography (obviously) and although I've been a member for some time I rarely seem to get on to make posts, view others, and read things of interest. However, as of late I have become more and more interested in people that share my passion for knowledge, understanding, and overall wisdom of the world we live in. I believe far too few ask the questions that are truly pertinent to life and here's where we get our chance to shine.

So...on that note I ask my first question.

As of late, I have been plagued by the question of "does God exist?". My fiance and I have frequent debates on this topic and although I call my self "agnostic" I also happen to lean very close to the side that does NOT believe in God. She claims that this world is "far too amazing and beautiful for a God to have not created it". My response is almost always "why can't a garden be beautiful without imagining fairies exist in it as well?".

Clearly my question is this- I wish to discuss claims of God and claims against his existence and I don't want opinions...I want factual evidence that can be defined and supported. I'm welcome to all viewpoints. Thanks and let the fun begin! :phones:

Hi there!

Golly, 8 posts in THREE YEARS? Jeez, your keyboard must still be smelling like the factory in China that gave birth to it!

Any case, on to your lingering question:

You're looking for "factual evidence" regarding God's existence/non-existence. Problem is, that belief in any deity of any flavour requires a leap of faith; that's why it's called "religion", and hence there can be no backing empirical evidence to support or disprove it.

It simply exists outside the realm of science, or, in my opinion, solely in the minds of those believing in it.

Hi D.S.,