Science Forums

MySQL

Cedars

OK I am going nuts.

I have a table I am trying to Query via phpMyAdmin. I am very new to using this stuff but I have had success with creating searchable access DBs, creating forms to search multiple inputs and produce results that are accurate.

This table has 8 fields including the ID (auto-increment)

Its a bird table with Type, Name, Nester, Sp, Su, F, W

What I am trying to do is query the Type for Hawk.

I keep getting zero results when I know there are 13 records

Heres the query:

SELECT * FROM `cmbird2` WHERE `Type` = 'Hawk'

And another try:

SELECT * FROM cmbird2 WHERE Type= 'Hawk'

Heres another version of the query that doesnt produce errors, but doesnt find the results

SELECT `cmbird2`.*

FROM cmbird2

WHERE (`cmbird2`.`Type`= 'Hawk');

Now when I do a wildcard search on the whole database %Hawk% via phpmyadmin, rather than just the one the table, it produces the results I am seeking.

But using this search produces no results:

SELECT * FROM cmbird2 WHERE 'Type'= '%Hawk%'

Same with this one:

SELECT * FROM cmbird2 WHERE Type = 'Hawk'

And this:

SELECT * FROM cmbird2 WHERE Type = ('Hawk')

What am I doing wrong?

SELECT `cmbird2`.*
FROM cmbird2
WHERE (`cmbird2`.`Type`= 'Hawk');

I don't understand what you're trying to do with this code - it selects the database name rather than a column. You want to just SELECT * if you want all columns.

You wouldn't put quotes around the table names, only the words you want to match. (As an aside I'd also be careful about naming a column "Type" since it could easily have been a reserved word (although it isn't in MySQL)).

Try this:

SELECT * FROM cmbird2 WHERE (Type = 'Hawk');

first of all, are you sure that the table cmbird2 contains a Hawk in the field Type?