Science Forums

Contemplating about the raison de etre of huma beings.

hallenrm

I am often perplexed by the nature of human beings.

As a scientist I know why an atom or molecule behaves the way it does. Its behavior is determined by various physical and chemical laws. But, I fail to comprehend why a human being behaves the way it does.

or

Why a human being decides to remain alive and struggle for existence even in the most adverse conditions? Hope does not appear to me a very valid common reason, because I have seen that many people continue to struggle even when there is no hope for change.

The only reason I know of, is the faith, that things may change because the God that overlooks all the actions of each human being, acts in ways incomprehensible to the individual beings, that can bring about a change in their fate, that is, their living conditions.

Can somebody, more knowledgeable, share his/her thoughts and throw some light on this. :D

Why a human being decides to remain alive and struggle for existence even in the most adverse conditions?
Any creature who's genes don't cause a strong drive to survive and reproduce (and care for offspring when necessary) will be much less likely to pass these genes on. When genes are successful they propagate down generations, otherwise they fade away.

I am often perplexed by the nature of human beings.

As a scientist I know why an atom or molecule behaves the way it does. Its behavior is determined by various physical and chemical laws. But, I fail to comprehend why a human being behaves the way it does.

it is a matter of complexity, of one set of properties emerging from an underlying, more simple set.

Why a human being decides to remain alive and struggle for existence even in the most adverse conditions? Hope does not appear to me a very valid common reason, because I have seen that many people continue to struggle even when there is no hope for change.