Science Forums

Hello from mhatch

mhatch

Hi everyone, I'm joining because I found an interesting thread here quite by accident. I was looking for the book link for the book 'Why Is The Universe The Way It Is?" by Dr. Hugh Ross, and one of your members started a thread with the same title. The discussion was very interesting, and I decided to join in.

I am a software architect by trade (currently at Microsoft), but have been studying issues of science and faith, primarily through the organization Reasons To Believe (RTB). As a Christian, I have always had quite a bit of trouble with the common belief that the universe is 'young' from a biblical perspective, when science clearly tells us that the universe is 13.7 Billion years old. RTB is a science based think-tank that has developed predictive creation models that comport with what science tells us. Their view and approach is very refreshing, always being certain to understand explain a natural perspective before providing a creation view.

We need more of this, in my opinion - open and honest discussion of the issues without being afraid, threatened, or argumentative. I also think Christians should not assert God as the answer to unknowns (called 'God of the Gaps').

The more we learn about the finely tuned nature and uniqueness of our world, science's answers to the tough questions frequently align with a biblical world view (The Big Bang being the most obvious of these, the 'Out of Africa' hypothesis for the origin of man being another).

I look forward to discussing these topics with you!

Hi there, mhatch...

Hmmm... you're a Christian and you work for Microsoft. :) That gives people around here two reasons to be deeply - perhaps permanently - suspicious of you!

The matters you're interested in often come up for discussion, but the arguments usually get overemotional. If you can keep your nerve and stay sensible, you might enjoy it here.

Thanks Donk! I like you guys already.