Science Forums

Transpersonal Psychology: Invitation to Dialogue

Hi folks. First post in this section.

(Near being banned for radical honesty in the science and philosophy of science sections. Telling the truth as one sees it is way low on the priorities of social protocol compared to being polite over there. Truth telling is absolutely essential to transpersonal psych.... and existential authenticitty.)

When i got my masters in psych, there was no "transpersonal psychology." But I had been meditating an hour a day since I was 21, a few years previous to my psych/philosophy dual masters in '70.

I had discovered the realm of the mystics which transcended "personal identity," yet there was no application for that realization in the field of psychology. It was still mostly about the four main "schools"... behavioral (Skinnerian+), classical analytical (Freud and successors), Gestalt (Pearls and permutations) and the humanistic 'feelings focus' and "self improvement"... plethora.

My philosophical interest had become focused on the varieties of existentialism, so my eventual thesis became: "Existential Freedom as a Basis for Psychotherapy." I became an "existential psychologist" In the absence of 'transpersonal psych.' Had the "field" pretty much to myself locally. There were other pioneers... Victor Frankle's "Logotherapy"... Carl Rodgers' "Rogerian" psych.... Jaspers' "paper" on... "the Encapsulated Man" and his message to break free from "cultural programs."

Yet I felt the gap between the ultimate 'existential freedom' to most authentically and uniquely "be yourself" and this spiritual realization which transcended "personal self" identity altogether... the realm of classical spiritual enlightenment. After the 'seventies', this 'gap' disappeared and i found a way to serve without the restrictions of these academic categories.