Science Forums

The Resignation of the Government of Iceland

Mercedes Benzene

Iceland's coalition government has collapsed as a result of an escalating economic crisis.

Prime Minister Geir Haarde announced the immediate resignation of his cabinet, after talks with coalition partners failed.

BBC NEWS | Europe | Crisis claims Iceland government

I'm not an expert on Icelandic government, but it sounds bad. :hihi:

Thoughts?

Iceland is in *very* serious trouble. Not only is the population very small for a country (about 320,000 people) but their economy has been so torn up that it is hard to see how they can recover within even a century. The national debt is incredible, and lots of people have lost everything during the financial crisis - homes, work, everything - yet their personal debt remains.

I read in a Norwegian paper yesterday that the national debt now is so big that children who are born now will not live to see the debt be repaid.

They will need serious help IMHO.

Bet our national debt in the US is even bigger per person.
I’ll take that bet! :)

Estimates of real national debts are complicated and uncertain, but the US national debt of about US$10,554,000,000,000 and its population of about 306,700,000 gives a per-capita debt of about $35,000/person, Iceland’s of about 6 times its GDP of US$20,000,000,000, US$120,000,000,000, and its population of about 319,800 gives about $375,000. So the per-capita debt of Iceland is about 10 times that of the US.

My skill at solving such problems goes not much beyond simple arithmetic like the above, so I’ve only the barest ideas what, structurally, Iceland’s economic crisis is, its causes, or how it could be solve. Given how complicated financial structures are, I’ll jump straight to considering the crisis’s causes.