Science Forums

Challenge for Thinkers, Designers and creative individuals.

I would like to make a video game.

I intend to start the design of this game here, on Hypography and I would like to do this with the help of others, the more the marrier. No experience required, and all who apply will be concidered.

Now here's the first part of the challenge. What would one expect of this game? What would you like to see in the game?

I intend to walk through the methods of writing a game design. I would prefer not to do it all myself, and so I have soliticted advice, expertise, and co-authorship here. I want to go through it stage by stage and write up, communially a production grade Game Proposal Document and a Plan to Implement.

I am new to this, only really have a book to guide me and what has been said to me by people more versed in this than myself. So anything one might have to say on this would be appreciated.

It would be great and I would love to do something like this. But for a start if you want a 3D game that looks ok and has all the proper physics implemented, it would take a lot of learning, patience and time! Not saying we couldnt do it, but im not sure exactly sure you know what your in for.

Here is what I expect at current:

The Design Process:

The design process is a series of steps followed by designers, architects and some system designers. It is part of the GCSE curriculum in a number of subjects. Typical stages of the design process include:

* Design brief - a statement of the task at hand

* Analysis (systems design) - analysis of current system

* Research - investigating similar products in the field or related topics

* Specification - detailed definitions of what exactly the product must do

* Conceptual Design - presentation of solutions

* Development - continuation and improvement of one solution

* Testing (systems design) - in-situ testing of the system

* Implementation (systems design) - introducing the design into the environment