Science Forums

Gravity = negative matter?

DrDoc

Symmetry seems to abound in the universe, but no one seems to have pigeonholed gravity, yet. It may soon become abundently clear that I have little background in physics, but that doesn't stop me from wondering about things.

It's my understanding that 'virtual particles' somehow spring into existence out of nothingness, they exist for a while, but when each meets its partner they annihilate each other. Using math as anology it seems that 0= -1 + 1. It's only one giant leap to supposing that for any particle there is some anti entity so that when the two are combined the end result is zero. It's only a small step to reverse the process: 0 = something + negative something. Given this, then why can't the gravity from particle 'A' + particle 'A' = 0? Going back to the virtual particles for a moment, could it be that when A (a particle) is created its negative element is also produced? My thought is that all particles having mass that come into existence also have gravity (i.e negative mass).

Just wondering if this makes a bad physics idea.

Regards,

DrDoc

Theories of gravitation are literal geometric symmetries. They can be written to ignore handedness (Newton, General Relativity) or detect it (teleparallel gravitation). Both alternatives give identical predictions for everything except opposite parity mass distributions.

Photons are their own antiparticles. There are a number of such neutral particles. You cannot combine two physical things and get nothing. Mass-energy, linear momentum, angular momentum, and electric charge are rigorously conserved. Another dozen or so conservation laws are weaker and have well-defined violations. What goes in must come out.