Science Forums

Web

Hi im just wondering if i had a design for a web site could i copyright or patent the design so no one could use that style ......... im not a web designer but have come up with a few ideas with freinds about new web page lay outs ... i suppose it would have to differ greatly from the web layouts there are around today .... but i think it would qualify for a design patent .....................

i have browsed over the patent office classifications but i couldnt find out what classification such ideas would come under .. IF ANY AT ALL ...

:(

Hi im just wondering if i had a design for a web site could i copyright or patent the design so no one could use that style…
Yes, you can.

Perhaps the most famous website design-related patent is Amazon’s 1998 “Method and system for placing a purchase order via a communications network", better know as “1 click to purchase” or “the Amazon 1-click”, in which Amazon laid claim to the idea of a “click here to buy” button or link in any website.

That said, if you’re considering engaging in a life of intellectual property wrangling, you’d best consider at least a few of the following

• Is if ethically right to patent an idea that isn’t hard to invent, or may have already been invented, but not patented?
  • Are you comfortable with working with patent lawyers, and all of the rest of the apparatus of patent law?
  • Can you afford working with patent lawyers, and all of the rest of the apparatus of patent law?
  • If, in the popular internet’s infancy, the CERN folk who invented it had not declared it “free to everyone” (public domain), but had, as they were entitled, patented it, would the world be a better place today?
  • What is the meaning of the informal motto ”don’t be evil”, embraced by such companies as Google.
  • Should you embrace it?