Science Forums

Cryptozoology, anyone??

Dabo

This board seems to have been around a while by the number of posts on so many threads on so many forums, and y'all may have already chased this rabbit a ways, but being a newbie, I want to see what your ideas on the subject are; that subject being, Cryptozoology...

Most of you already have heard the term and probably know to what it refers. I won't go into that much, because you can look it up faster than I can go into detail. What it is NOT is, as Bernard Heuvelman (master of Cryptozoology) says, "an arcane or occult zoology". What it is, is the study of hidden animals. They use the work hidden instead of unknown because they are not unknown to folks who live in the same areas. They are simply undetected by those who would formally recognize their existance and catalogue them. I emphasize that this is not voodo or pseudo science, noting that in 1982, the International Society of Cryptozoology was founded at a meeting held at the Smithsonian Institution, by known scientists of varying disciplines, including, biology, zoology, physical anthropology, etc. Folks always first think of the usual suspects; Loch Ness Monster, Sasquach, Florida Skunk Ape, Champ- the Lake Champlain Monster, Ogo Pogo-Canadian lake monster, sea serpents, et.al. But as you all know, just this week, it was announced that scientists had discovered hundreds of unknown species of birds, reptiles, and mammals in indonesia, including a "tree kangaroo". So this is serious science.