Science Forums

Coriolis Effect--Science or Superstition?

DCP_0007JPGI never took a Physics class. I was into Liberal Arts, not Science. A few years ago I was fascinated by the Foucault Pendulum exhibit at the Smithsonian. The 'explanations' posted near the exhibit were meaningless to me. I was left with a nagging craving to truly understand what was going on with that pendulum. It became a hobby, then an obsession of mine.

The more I studied, the more complex the issues became. The more I tried to discuss my concerns with Scientific Authorities, the more frustrated I became. Physics Professors have been uniformly unwilling to "discuss" the Physics of Coriolis and Foucault. All they want to do is beat me over the head with the math--the wonderful process of mathematically creating rotating frames of reference. For ten years or so I have been trying to find JUST ONE Physicist willing to analytically discuss the Physics (as opposed to the Math) of Coriolis. So far, no luck.

Which brings me here. This seems to be a forum of educated, inquiring minds. I believe I have some startling and valuable information to share. But if my quest ever gains any traction, it will be a near-miracle. It is kind of like sending radio messages out into Space. I am earnestly seeking other intelligent life to communicate with--about the Physics of Earth's rotation.

I submit that Coriolis totally misunderstood the true Physics of Earth's Rotation. For those of us In Earth, Earth is an In-Ertial frame of reference.

The Coriolis Effect is a circular argument. Its goal was to show Earthly (non-astronomical) proof of Earth's rotation. However, the theory starts by ASSUMING that Earth is a physically non-inertial environment-- in order to purportedly Prove that Earth is physically a non-inertial environment.

WHERE DOES THE ENERGY COME FROM WHICH CAUSES EARTH TO ROTATE?