Science Forums

Phones tomorrow

Hi everybody!

I am new to science forums and this is my first post. In India, at present there is a strong wave for mobiles, more and more companies are offering very affordable packages. I wonder how far can it go. Can the available spectrum of radio frequency alloted to mobile telephony accomodate all the people who may be keen to have a mobile and would like to talk to others at an instance of time? Is there a possibility of saturation of networks? If yes, what would be the newer options? Any ideas?

Yes, you can saturate the networks; you'll get a long beep and a 'network busy' message on your handset.

no, the current allotment of spectrum can't handle every last mobile making a phone call at the same time with the current technology; but that's why they widen the bandwidth and change the code once in a while (analog -> digital -> 1RxTT -> ?).

Well, so far there is bandwidth available, but is bandwidth infinite? that more and more can be made available to the service providers of mobile phones. Obviously at some point in time all the available bandwidth will be exhausted. what then? It is such a scenario that I am looking at.

I believe, that ultimately we would have to look beyond telecommunication, that is, communication not based on electromagnetic waves. Doesn't telepathy offers some hints. All most all of us experience some form of telepathy sometime or the other. How does it happen? Can it be transformed into a communication technology?

In the future, we'll have a mixture of poles coming out of the ground that lengthen a wireless connection. Somewhat like the devices used to extend the distance of waves while keeping the attributes of the wave the same. These will most likely be poles in the ground similar to phone poles, but perhaps smaller. The only problem would be keeping them protected, so I'd assume they would have to be on top of street lights or something.