Science Forums

Rocket Science for Fun

Pyrotex

Greetings Earthlings,

:QuestionM I work on aerospace projects for the Johnson Space Center in Houston, TX. My work tends to be 'hurry-hurry-wait-wait'. During the 'wait' parts, I thought it would be fun to join this online community and strike up some conversations. My background is in physics and math, but my real loves include astronomy, cooking and general science. Hello to all of you out there.

Welcome! I work for the Norwegian Space Centre myself. :eek2:

:QuestionM Fascinating!* I was really impressed with the latest Norwegian space probe designed to find fjords on the Moon. Good luck with that one.

:eek2: *this is what Vulcans were trained to say in Terrestrial charm schools instead of "reeking marsh-ogre droppings!"

Greetings Earthlings,

:QuestionM I work on aerospace projects for the Johnson Space Center in Houston, TX. My work tends to be 'hurry-hurry-wait-wait'. During the 'wait' parts, I thought it would be fun to join this online community and strike up some conversations. My background is in physics and math, but my real loves include astronomy, cooking and general science. Hello to all of you out there.

Hi Pyro, my work is the same, I call it "Hurry up and wait". I work as a software engineer at the US Patent Office.

Hi Pyro, my work is the same, I call it "Hurry up and wait". I work as a software engineer at the US Patent Office.

Interesting. I was just awarded the NASA Space Act Award for "inventiveness". They even gave my company the rights to appeal for a patent, but my company decided it was too expensive. The product was an intelligent 'shell' program that gave old 60's and 70's UNIX programs a modern point-n-click interface -- without touching one line of code in the old programs.

What do you do in the Antarctic? Actually wait a second. I'm installing Messenger right now. ...