Science Forums

3D Printing Paves Way for “Designer” Titanium Alloys

Very interesting! Thank you for this information, Vic.

To answer your question; yes, I definitely do think these new alloys plus the use of 3D printing will have a very positive effect on many industries, not only aerospace.

Seems like there are several revolutionary developments here, from new titanium alloy microstructure design to the use of Laser Directed Energy Deposition (L-DED) 3D printing process, to print the new alloys from metal powder.

This sounds to me like a major breakthrough that will have very wide applications.

As a marine engineer, I have gone through the very tedious and delicate process of taking apart and rebuilding turbine generators, mainly to remove and replace damaged titanium alloy turbine blades because they are very brittle and eventually, they all fail.  I often wondered if these blades could be made more ductile while still retaining their enormous tensile strength and ability to withstand enormously high temperatures.

These researchers seem to have come up with the answer.

Incidentally, if I was a younger man, I would be looking to get involved with 3D printing; there are great future prospects in that field.

6 hours ago, OceanBreeze said:

Incidentally, if I was a younger man, I would be looking to get involved with 3D printing; there are great future prospects in that field.