Science Forums

Intense nutrition load soils - Organic?

Ganoderma

In the beginning stages of getting the farm built and have decided to turn 1/4-1/2 into an experimental multi crop section. the goal is to use all space available for food plants and get as high yields without additional chemicals.

I have been running an experimental bed for 3 years which is packed with plants and uses a tera pretta style soil. lots of charcoal and some brick/broken pottery. this bed i just use all the dead plants/leaves and other organic waste (including caterpillars/snails that get the hammer :hyper:) and it has been good, but moderate yields of things like pepper, tomato and such.

so i am starting with a flat piece of hard crappy dirt. i am planning on bringing in dead vegetation (lots around after this recent typhoon!) and taking the wood to make charcoal and the rest to make compost/loam.

Question is what are some good ways to really *FEED* plants via organic. i know its a slower process, but surely there are ways if planned ahead and just let it run as a constant cycle...? i also do the "throw it on the surface" technique. leaves and such just get thrown all over the ground, it has been a very effective "slow release" fertilizer the last 3 years, but i need a boost.

any thoughts?

[quote name=Ganoderma;276268

so i am starting with a flat piece of hard crappy dirt. i am planning on bringing in dead vegetation (lots around after this recent typhoon!) and taking the wood to make charcoal and the rest to make compost/loam.

Question is what are some good ways to really *FEED* plants via organic. i know its a slower process' date=' but surely there are ways if planned ahead and just let it run as a constant cycle...? i also do the "throw it on the surface" technique. leaves and such just get thrown all over the ground, it has been a very effective "slow release" fertilizer the last 3 years, but i need a boost.

any thoughts?[/quote]