Science Forums

Hiya, I'm Rick

Rickscool

I'm Rick, 61 retired and a widower. I have degrees in metallurgy and gemology. I spent many years working in the aerospace industry and then in the field of gemology. I live in Reno Nevada and I'm glad to be here.

Hello, Rick.

Welcome to Hypography.

I'm Pyro :hihi: 62 and still working in the aerospace industry down in Houston.

I passed through Reno several times, on my way to Carson City, for the national whistling contests they used to have there every year.

Hi Rick!

I think we've got a group going here. I'm 62 and always single.

I haven't ever had anything to do with aerospace.

I have a degree in English and a background in journalism and various humanities and social sciences. But I grew up on a farm, which I still have, so that kind of balances my interests.

So anyway, I guess, welcome to the group!

--lemit

Hi Rick, i am not 60-something :-) but at the moment single too... welcome!

But what is a whistling contest pyro? Whistling like doing sound whit expiring/inspiring air? A contest of that?

lemit, I do not remeber if you can delete your posts, but if you can you should see a little square you can check next to the post number and then on the bottom right you have the option delete from a drop down menu. I can do it for you if you want...

...But what is a whistling contest pyro? Whistling like doing sound whit expiring/inspiring air? A contest of that?...
sanctus,

yes! A contest to see who can whistle the best music. Like playing a flute -- without the flute! There used to be an annual contest in Carson City, Nevada, where folks would come from as far away as Hawaii, Canada, Mexico and England and would compete in several catagories: Jazz, Classical, Ballad, Duets, etc. My first year there (1975) I took first place in Jazz and Ballad. But a Canadian took two other first place trophies AND overall Grand Champion.

this is NOT bird whistling