Science Forums

Greetings to planet Earth

mentor

my nick is Mentor, not because I am a Mentor, but taken from an old E.E.Doc Smith story, someone I was at school with tried to insult me by saying my brain would be more use pickled and stored in a jar, I was reading the Lensmen series at the time, the super-intelligence that was helping civilisation to thrive was seen by the First Lensman when he visited Arisia as being a huge brain in a jar of nutrient solution, so the "Insult" amused me, since from that perspective he was claiming I was super-intelligent, I kept the nick during the CB radio years, and carried it onto the Internet when that arrived.

in the real world I am an engineer who works on exotic- one off- machinery, in my time off I play with computers, telescopes, books, electronics and remote control model aircraft/cars

my interests are everything, my only regrets are a need to sleep every day and they only have 24 hours in each day, plus the inevitable mortality thing that will one day get in the way of my fun

my other main regret is that the space race didn`t continue, when I was younger I thought by now I would be crewing a spaceliner to Mars or working as researcher in the rings of Saturn, the reality seems incredibly boring and trivial compared to O` Neil colonies, outer system hotels, orbital starship docks and colony ships heading for the nearer stars that I grew up reading about as "the next step"

hope anyone reading this is still awake, cheers.

edit due to missing word

Well written introduction. I should actually add one myself, regardless if I am new or have been around.

What type of "exotic- one off- machinery"? What does that mean?

Welcome!

For me this place is a lot of things. From Enterainment to my source of free eductation untill I am able to attend a real college or uni.