Science Forums

Social networks in Science

angelacarritt

Hello everyone,

I'm not a scientist but I'm a librarian. I am currently researching the use of social networks, particularly in scholary environments and so I'm interested in looking around this social network to find out how scientists might be using it.

If anyone has any thoughts on the use of social networks for research, I'd love to hear from you.

Sorry not to be a scientist.

Angela

Welcome and you do not have to be sorry for not being a scientist, we are also a popular science forum not only hardcore science :-).

Acutally i do not know what the precentage of members here are what is called "real scientists"...

To join here all is required is an interest in science and in discussions ;-)

I am currently researching the use of social networks... to find out how scientists might be using it...

"research: attempt to find out in a systematically and scientific manner;"

"A scientist, in the broadest sense, refers to any person that engages in a systematic activity to acquire knowledge "

Methinks you just might qualify. :shrug:

hi :phones:

Hey! You took my "avatar" away ...just in time. :)

I've been using that "books" avatar for over a year now, but just a few days ago I finally got a picture uploaded--and retired the "books." Thanks for checking them out. :(

They are well-worn, still warm, and they served me well--enjoy!

===

As for "being" a scientist...

"Methinks you just might qualify." -Gahd

...especially if you have an MLS; I mean, they do use the word "science" in the degree!