Science Forums

Writing my first evoling algorithm

so, i've been a programmer now going on 3 years, and i know how to program in c, java, and recently i've learned python. python so far is my personal favourite. i've been reading up on evolving algorithms, but most websites only give theory without much code. so i thought what the heck, let's try my hand at it. my problem to tackle, writing an evolving algorithm that can play the game baduk (also known as go) relatively well.

i've written most of the evolution part, and am now at the point of writing the fitness function, which is probably the most difficult part.

in case your interested, here's my code (its in python)

#interpret the rule correctly
def analizerule(boardstate,ruleset):
  stringp = ""
  stringr = bstr(ruleset) #convert the rule to a binary string.
  for i in range(0,42):
     stringp = stringp +decrypt(i%2,stringr[3*i:3*i+3])
     #convert the string into ops, funcs, and values.
  for i in range(0,len(stringp)):
     if stringp[i] = "S": #execute skip function
        stringp = remove(stringp,i) 
  j = 0
  for i in range(0,len(stringp)):
     if string[i] = "L": #execute loop function
        stringp = add(j,stringp,i):
        j = i
  for i in range(0,len(string)):
     if stringp = "G": #execute get function
        stringp = replace(stringp,i)
  for i in range(0,len(stringp),2): #perform the operations.
     if stringp[i] == "&":
        boardstate = boardstate & int(stringp[i+1])
     if stringp[i] == "|":
        boardstate = boardstate | int(stringp[i+1])
     if stringp[i] == "^":
        boardstate = boardstate ^ int(stringp[i+1])
     if stringp[i] == "<":
        boardstate = boardstate << int(stringp[i+1])
     if stringp[i] == ">":
        boardstate = boardstate >> int(stringp[i+1])
  return boardstate

def bstr(value):
  string = ""
  while value > 0:
     temp = value % 2
     value = (value -temp)/2
     string = str(temp) +string
  while len(string) < 126: