Science Forums

What bug is this?

Monomer

I found this dead bug in the garden the other day. I've never seen anything like it before and thought it looked great, so I took a bunch of photos. Does anyone know what it is? It's about 3.5 cm long and 1.5 cm wide.

[ATTACH]1919[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH]1920[/ATTACH]

Just a guess, I am no expert.

"The Christmas beetle, is a name commonly applied to the Australian beetle genus Anoplognathus. They are known as Christmas beetles because they are abundant in urban areas close to Christmas."

Christmas beetle - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Possibly this specific one:

2. Anoplognathus viridiaeneus (Donovan)

Just a guess, I am no expert.

Stop being coy Cedars. :painting:

AFAICT, you are the resident Insecta expert here at Hypo! :girlneener:

I for one appreciate your insect contributions. I've learned quite a bit about butterflies and other insects from your posts. Otherwise, I wouldn't have known how to go about identifying the hummingbird moth you ID'd a few months back from my blurry photos.

Please keep up the good, and informative, work! :rolleyes:

these pop to mind when i see those:

Anomala

Trigonophorus (probably not, but resembles some females of some species)

even some Protaetia look similar, but i have NO idea about Australian species, but here in taiwan we have all of the above....so there is a good chance OZ has em too. just a guess though, i find beetles to eb hard most of the time getting down to specie.

these pop to mind when i see those:

Anomala

Trigonophorus (probably not, but resembles some females of some species)

even some Protaetia look similar, but i have NO idea about Australian species, but here in taiwan we have all of the above....so there is a good chance OZ has em too. just a guess though, i find beetles to eb hard most of the time getting down to specie.

Is this the trigonophorus you are talking about?

Cetonidae - the online insect museum