Science Forums

Atheism - theism

RiverRat

I’ll admit that I’ve had little experience with atheism.

1. College Art professor (rumored to have been demoted from the mathematics dept) rambled on about how God did not exist because of a reoccurring dream he had about a complex math equation.

2. An I.T. worker who was obsessed with binary code and had frequent conversations with himself. His contention was … “It does not compute” in his best robotic voice.

It is refreshing to engage rational individuals in a seemingly irrational debate. It seems (however coincidental) that atheist and theists may in essence be ‘hard wired’ in different manners. No matter what is presented (even with Mother T being placed on a lower moral plane than Tse-tung – thanks free thinker ;) ), I simply can not cognitively comprehend an atheist POV.

Am I being cheated? Am I really weak minded?

On the flip side, no matter what is presented to an atheist they can not cognitively comprehend a theist POV.

Are you being cheated? Are you really narrow minded?

May this be similar to a certain individual being a math whiz and another being athletic or yet another being artistic?

I am not a genius but I am fortunate to be able to assimilate new information and ideas. However …. I’m very poor at math above basic college calculus. May this be the reason I will never ‘get it’?

Flame suit activated

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Oh boy, are we gonna get in trouble! I can only guess where this thread may wind up. So I better get what I can in right now! After all I am Officially THE resident Atheist. :-)

So much to cover, where to start.

First is there a thought process difference? While I have actually read articles stating usch, with examples and data (I will try to find for you, I know some in either/ and Free Inquiry and Skeptical Inquirer mags), I have to wonder.