Science Forums

Interrogation techniques and applications

Fatstep

I'm not good at writing these, but..

I want to know what you all believe about our current system of interrogation for detainees in jails in the U.S.

I know the CIA has in the past used LSD to force confessions and insanity is often caused by isolation and sleep deprivation, but are we just doing this to get an answer, even if the person who admits doing something isn't the one who truly did it?

I want to know what you all believe about our current system of interrogation...

It sometimes works, it sometimes doesn’t. Basically, it depends. Here’s an article which may be insightful for you:

The Rules of Interrogation | TIME

If such interrogation tactics are legally questionable, are they at least useful? Is there any reason to believe that discomfort, nudity and sexual humiliation actually persuade men to share secrets? The answer is yes—sometimes—but not without great risk.

<…>

"But the human mind is more complex than that. There's no magic bullet." Over time, most intelligence professionals have settled on tools in the torture lite category. The fbi's methods fall on the genteel end of the spectrum. "Convicted felons have explained that they more likely would confess to an investigator who treated them with respect," according to a November 2002 issue of the fbi Law Enforcement Bulletin.