Science Forums

Crazy Time Thoery?

Crazy

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post on science forums and I say now that I am not an expert in such things. However I had this crazy idea and just wanted some opinions. Here goes:

Why does time have to be another dimension like height, width or depth? I’m proposing that time is actually a force like gravity. Let’s consider what we apparently know about gravity for a moment. We know that gravitational fields are created by the presence of matter and that those fields are short ranged and relatively weak. We also think that gravity acts in a single direction, i.e. a pull towards the centre of the mass that creates the field.

So why do I think time is similar to gravity? Well we can safely say that we know time to be linear, therefore it could be considered a force that acts in a single direction on the atoms of the universe. Now if time is a force, there needs to be something that creates the force. What if this something is mass? It would make sense to think that every atom in the universe creates its own time field that pushes that atom through time… or a process of aging as I like to think. Now common sense indicates that the more mass in an area, the larger the time field and hence faster the passage of time for that mass and anything within a certain undefined range. This would suggest that the opposite, i.e. close to zero mass or indeed zero mass would possess no time field at all and would thus exist indefinitely.

Now of course the opposite could be true with smaller masses causing a greater time field (faster passage of time) and huge masses slowing time down. This could explain why atomic particles exist for very short periods of time, although it would in theory suggest that photons should not exist for any length of time at all, which is clearly not the case.