Science Forums

The Gravity Model vs Big Bang Theory

W.Davidson

I'm a layman with a lifelong interest in science and one of the subjects I'm particularly interested in is alternatives to Big Bang theory. I came up with a theory of my own some years ago and sent copies to around 30 cosmologists. However, the reaction I got was pretty lukewarm, probably because they were all 'committed' to the Big Bang, so I thought I'd condense it to the bare essentials and post it on an Internet science forum to see what kind of reaction I'd get Okay? Here goes.

In order to explain the acceleration of galaxies, scientists have invoked the existence of a mysterious 'dark energy'. This is because their thinking is constrained by their belief in an expanding universe caused by the 'Big Bang'. A less biased researcher might conclude that the galaxies are under the influence of the only known force of nature that could cause such acceleration - gravity. This would require the existence of a supermassive, non-luminous body in space (presumably a black hole) towards which all the galaxies in the observable universe were being drawn.

If such a body existed, it does not seem likely that it would be the only such body in the universe, just as the Milky Way is not the only galaxy. There might be billions of such supermassive bodies, each drawing billions of galaxies towards them. This would mean that that which we call 'the observable universe' is merely a finite system of galaxies among many such finite systems in the universe at large.

If such a model could explain other observations such as the observation that the galaxies are all moving away from each other, then would it not deserve to replace the increasingly baroque and untenable Big Bang theory which requires us to believe so many scientifically unorthodox and unproven assumptions about the universe? I believe it should.