Science Forums

What is a "wind volcano"?

khosey1

I'm a magazine editorial intern, and I'm editing a short piece right now that makes one passing reference to a "wind volcano." The piece ends "...decided the storm was probably due to a wind volcano," which for one, is anticlimactic, and for two, doesn't identify what a "wind volcano" is. Do these in fact exist, and if so, what are they?

The piece refers to it in the context of Capt. Juan Mateo Manje and Father Eusebio Francisco Kino exploring northern Sonora and southern Arizona around 1699, and discovering what local Tohono O'odham (Papago) villagers called the "House of the Wind God" in present day Mission San Zavier del Bac (southwest of Tucson, Arizona).

I've never heard of it either, nor can I find anyone who has. I may try again to contact the writer and figure out if he may have meant something else, or if there's another term for it.

And yes, it does seem to me to fit more properly within the realm of 7th grade humor vernacular. :(

I'm a magazine editorial intern, and I'm editing a short piece right now that makes one passing reference to a "wind volcano." The piece ends "...decided the storm was probably due to a wind volcano," which for one, is anticlimactic, and for two, doesn't identify what a "wind volcano" is. Do these in fact exist, and if so, what are they?

The piece refers to it in the context of Capt. Juan Mateo Manje and Father Eusebio Francisco Kino exploring northern Sonora and southern Arizona around 1699, and discovering what local Tohono O'odham (Papago) villagers called the "House of the Wind God" in present day Mission San Zavier del Bac (southwest of Tucson, Arizona).

A quick search on "House of the Wind God" turned up something interesting that I believe may explain what "wind volcano" represents.

Read the following (it's a portion of a Hopi Legend found HERE):