Science Forums

Science or Religion

NORMANBOND007

Is Science the answer to how we are here and does it tell us why we are here? or Could it be that Religion is the answer of how and why are we here?

I'm not a scientist but I know from scientists that scientific investigation is only useful in studying natural processes. If a supernatural God actually created this world via miracles (additions to natural processes) then scientific investigation will not be an effective tool (at least by itself) in discerning that truth. Science does not prove naturalism, it merely assumes naturalism because it must. Now in the christian wolrdview miracles (additions to natural processes) are very rare events and therefore christians consider science a very valuable tool. But they also see it's limits when delving into areas such as origins.

Is Science the answer to how we are here and does it tell us why we are here? or Could it be that Religion is the answer of how and why are we here?

First off all, god created the universe and all its physical properties. Now humans are investigating these physical properties. So how can science and god be in contradiction.

I hate it when people only believe in one and think the other is wrong :hihi:

First off all, god created the universe and all its physical properties.

I agree.

Now humans are investigating these physical properties. So how can science and god be in contradiction.

All scientific investigation is conducted under the assumptions of naturalism. That is to say for a scientist to speculate about the past, he must assume there have been no additions to natural processes. This is not to say that science and God contradict. It merely means that science can neither verify nor falsify a miracle. All scientists agree with this. The conflict is not between science and God, but between the starting presuppositions about what God may or may not have done in the beginning.