Science Forums

By What Criteria Should A Person's Value Be Measured?

Iam Joy

Hi :smile:

My main philosophical interest is ethics and I've been reading a bit about intrinsic value. I've always wondered; what is the worth of a person; how do we measure it? I think it's extremely difficult. I used to be a psychiatric nurse and I've seen all kinds of people, from all walks of life, from the bottom to the top and all their f-ed up problems - and so I seem to have a very different perspective than most people about other people's worth.

It disturbs me very much that our society ('the west') measures a person's worth by how much money, prestige and power they have. But is this really how the worth of a person should be measured?

I know in some cultures it's about how many kids you've raised, or how much wisdom you have in you to share. But is that how our worth should be measured?

It's important, because in our society ('the west') your value is judged by others, authority, and esp. the government and then you're treated on how 'worthy' they think you are. So how can an old lady living alone with no family be 'worthless' as a person, while a rich man is regarded as of 'value'? If a person cannot contribute to society due to their mental state or handicaps, does this de-value them as people?

So, By what criteria should a person's value be measured? Are all people of equal worth - if not, why not - and how should those deemed 'unworthy' be treated (and is that fair, civilised, or humane)??

Hi :smile:

My main philosophical interest is ethics and I've been reading a bit about intrinsic value. I've always wondered; what is the worth of a person; how do we measure it? I think it's extremely difficult. I used to be a psychiatric nurse and I've seen all kinds of people, from all walks of life, from the bottom to the top and all their f-ed up problems - and so I seem to have a very different perspective than most people about other people's worth.