Science Forums

Hello community!

PerfectLiquid

I'm PerfectLiquid (that mysterious property that was a requirement for the aether). By training, I'm a scientist, but left that realm professionally about 25 years ago.

I'm pretty much a rookie when it comes to social networking, but have viewed a number of posts dealing with astrophysics. I tend to listen long and talk little.

I landed here after discovering a thread started by TheBigDog on Maximum Gravitational Force that was posted back in '06. He raised a very interesting observation that may be worth additional discussion.

My main interests are in working out a model for space-time, but not according to currently popular methods (which as I see it, rely largely on mathematics). Rather, I am relying on the use of physical (and chemical) analogies to construct a tangible model. I recognize that this will put me at odds with most quantum physicists, but I have to go with my instincts. As such, I am interested in gravity, time, supermassive black holes, relativistic jets and gamma ray bursts (among other topics). Although not well versed in the history of physics, I have found remarkable insights from Clerk Maxwell, Einstein and Newton.

I am currently noodling the relationship between density and gravitational force, and that's how I found TheBigDog's post. So why is gravitational force higher at the surface of a smaller dense object than at the surface of a larger, but less dense object? (and does it max out?)

BTW - what's a trackback?

Nuff said,

Al

well hello al,

welcome to hypography!!:confused:

Hi Pamela,

Thanks for the welcome. Since you seem to be fond of Einstein, you might be interested in my reply to Little Bang at http://hypography.com/forums/philosophy-of-science/3650-what-is-time-70.html#post278225. I continue to marvel at how little I was taught (or learned) about him in school. I wish that I had studied German, so that I could check out some of his work first hand. Take care. :eek2:

Regards,