Science Forums

Infinity divided by itself sometimes? =0

breezer

I seem to remeber coming across this somewhere in college (10 years ago) in Calculus. I am a high school math teacher and would like to know if infinity divided by itself equals zero. If so, when and why? Under what circumstances? I do know that it is supposed to equal one.

Infinity isn't a number so you can't use math operators on it. If you're talking about a limit , that's something different. The limit could be 0, 1 , or any other number ...

infinity / infinity is a case of indetermination.

lim x ^ (n-1) / x ^ n then x goes to infinity

is equal to infinity / infinity. When you simplify with x ^ (n-1)

lim x ^ (n-1) / x ^ n = lim 1 / x which is 0

lim x ^ n / x ^ n = lim 1 =1

lim 2 * x / x = 2

lim x ^ 2 / x = infinity

I know this aren't the best examples , but I hope it's helpful.

I seem to remeber coming across this somewhere in college (10 years ago) in Calculus. I am a high school math teacher and would like to know if infinity divided by itself equals zero. If so, when and why? Under what circumstances? I do know that it is supposed to equal one.

Tom is basically right. The representation of infinity divided by infinity is not a number per se. However,

you can take the ratio of two divergent series and if the denominator diverses at a less rate than the

numerator you could have a converging ratio in the limit.

Tom's examples were great.

To test for convergence you use L'Hospital's Rule (I learned in second semester Calculus) by taking the

derivative separately of both numerator and denominator. If the derivatives converge then the ratio

will converge. Neat huh... ;)

Maddog

the graph of x/x is simply a line of y=1, so, graphically, it approaches to 1 as x approaches infinity.

well, tom is right, it depends on the increasing rate of the denominator and numerator....

if the information given is simply infinity over infinity, i would say it is undefined.