Science Forums

Forensic Science

forensics is my future

Hi,

I posted this in the introduction forum, and the social sciences forum but after browsing and conducting a search, I realized this may be the better place for my questions.

Thanks

I am currently a high school student who is interested in forensics. I have an interest in law and science which has influenced me to consider a career in forensics. I decided to join this forum in order to get advice. I will be applying to college next year and would like to know some info about what I should be looking at (schooling, etc.) for a career in forensics.

I know becoming a forensic pathologist would take about 11-12 years post high school, and am aware that this is an option (MD or DO route). What I am interested in finding out about is a PhD route. I am interested in doing forensic science for the courts, working in a lab etc.

My questions are:

What would a compectitive major be for applying to a graduate program in forensic science?

Do most graduate schools have a forensic science program? (PhD)

I would also like to add that I have a minor physical disability. I live 99% of a normal life; however, because of my disability I wear leg braces knee high, and walk with a small limp. I do not see my disability holding me back in a career in forensic science and am looking forward to my future.

Any info you guys have for me, I truely appreciate.

and please if I posted this in the wrong forum, I am sorry. Hopefully a moderator can move it to the appropiate forum.

(Sorry I have posted this in three different places)

Thanks again

Do you mean to be the fella/lady who autopsies people and weighs their liver and brain and what not looking for a cause of death? This, I think, is the 11-12 year (medical Doctor) forensics profession.