Science Forums

I Have Some Questions About Spacetime And Gravity

Lucqs

I'm gonna start off by saying that I by no means am an expert on physics.

I'm only 14, but I'm curious about spacetime and gravity.

My current understanding is that time actually is bent in a curve relative to mass, and that we perceivee time as being straight but that it actually is bent because straight lines cant exist in a universe filled with mass. 

Im pretty sure Im missing something, so to what extent is this correct?

Thanks

Edited by Lucqs

My current understanding is that time actually is bent in a curve relative to mass, and that we perceivee time as being straight but that it actually is bent because straight lines cant exist in a universe filled with mass. 

Thanks

Join the club! I'm not an expert on it either.

I believe what you may have in mind is the idea of "geodesics" in general relativity. A geodesic is the equivalent of a straight line, but in curved geometries, the original geodesic being the shortest distance between two points on the surface of a sphere, such as the Earth. The surface of a sphere is 2D but not flat (e.g. the 3 angles of a triangle do not any longer add up to 180deg, as you can check by drawing a triangle on an orange) so the geometry does not obey Euclid's rules which is what we learn at school. My understanding is that the path , called the "worldline", of something in the 4D spacetime geometry of GR follows a geodesic in that 4D geometry, and that that geometry is made to curve by mass

So it is not that time is somehow curved but 4D spacetime is curved - by mass - and then objects follow geodesics (the equivalents of straight lines)  in that curved spacetime.

Bear in mind that the worldline of even a stationary object is a line, not a point, because this is spacetime and so if it exists for a finite period of time it will follow a line in the time dimension, even though it does not move along any of the space dimensions.