Science Forums

Is Quantum Mechanics Just a Math Trick?

Fishteacher73

I will grant that my physics training is slight to say the least (a little high school physics in Swedish (Fun to discuss advanced science when you are still learning the language...), Non-Calc. based physics in college (For us that wandered off into the squishy sciences), and just a bit of self-taught.). So perhaps just the math is over my head, but quantum theory just seems flawed. It seems illogical to decide that the rules suddenly don not apply because you can not figure out how it works. It seems odd that the scientific comunity would embrace a theory so full of "hocus-pocus" random constants and theoretical particles just so the "math" will work. It is as if physicists just decided to allow a bit of creationism into their theory. Teleporting electrons and "telepathic" comunication faster than the speed of light to determine spin? Are we going to start putting leaches on our slide-rulers now (Well probably computers at this point.)?

Again I do not mean to bash quantum mechanics, but it just seems unscientific and basically flawed. Anyone got something out there that reconciles this theory?

The rules weren't changed because they didn't know how it works, but because it was the only way to describe in better agreement the reality.

All the QM started by trying to describe the radiation of the black body, Planck introduced his h constant in describing this radiation; he so managed to find a formula that described both the radiation at high and low frequency, before there were two separate laws (one of Wien and the other one I don't remeber whos it was). So he introduced his constant and then the observation was in agreement with the theory.

Not long after Poincaré deduced that quantification of the energy from planck's law.