Science Forums

Maglev trains

hey its my first time here i wanted to tell you that i am making a working model of a maglev train and i want to know if this idea could make it run forward without and physical means.

1. place a ceramic latch magnet behind the train and have some type of thin slice of wood board with another magnet on it. at the ends of this slice of wood will be two ropes attached with wheels which will slide over the grove at the sides of the platform the ropes will be turned by two motors at the end of the track. this magnet will costantly repel the other magnet hence pushing it in front.

2. please help i have already made the train by 1/4" of styrofoam and it slides well when pushed with hands. it iis due in 11 days so please help.

sorry but what i wanted to say is that i am building a working model of a maglev train for our high school project. our instructor told me that if you are making a maglev train it should be able to move on its own. I did some research on the internet and i visited this site where the tracks are simply two magnet strips, each measuring about 24" long, 1/2" wide, 1/8" thick, with their North side facing up.They are placed about 1/8" in from the edges of a piece of 3/4" thick wood board (with a white melamine surface) base, 24" long and 4" wide. Ends and a back wall are attached to the base, about 3" tall. The front of the base has a Plexiglas wall attached to it, so that you can see the train platform float above the tracks. the train is made of foam-core board, 3 and 7/8" wide by 6" long and 1/4" thick. On the bottom is a pair of magnet strips, about 6" long, 1/2" wide, 1/4" thick, with their North side facing down. They are placed about 1/8" in from the side edges.

i already fixed the apparatus and it floats well. but the only thing is that i am not being able to make it move forward on its own.