Science Forums

Help a noob out - experimenting without understanding

Avarice

Hey guys. I've never been into chemistry much, I failed it in Highschool and even dropped out of it in college. That's changed now however as I am getting older, I want to understand what everything is made of, and what I can do to experiment at home with chemistry. I don't have time any more for college classes, but I am studying on my own and reading online.

Anyways, last night I was experimenting with electro-chemistry. I took normal salt-water, a DC current and put the wires in the solution. I read somewhere that the bubbling wire is positive, but what chemically is happening when the wire is bubbling?

Also, I hooked a nail up to the bubbling wire and let it sit a while, I got a bluish liquid. When I hooked it up to the negative wire, I got a dark blacking liquid (which seperated itself equally on the top and bottom after sitting.

When I put a nail on BOTH wires, and kept the wire itself out of the solution, I got a brownish-black liquid. I don't know chemically what is going on here.

Also, I tried AC current through the solution (DANGEROUS- Dont try) .. one of the submerged wires sparked violently, and the liquid bubbled and turned green almost immediately.

Any help appreciated, thanks.

well for a start any experimentation without understanding can be dangerous - especially with electricity.:eek2:

When you saw bubbles you where witnessing the H2O(water) getting broken up and producing oxygen and/or hydrogen gas, depending on the voltage you used (I think...)

The colours where most likely a result of the metals corroding.

Well I was prepared for an explosion/steam/toxic gas, juust wasn't prepared for the cord melting inside of the terminal. I won't be doing that experiment again without something to tone down the voltage. Thanks for the info, I'll probably do some more tonight and I'll remember the voltage and what-not.