Science Forums

Frequencies of wood resonance

freeztar

I'm a recording musician, and as such I have to deal with resonances within my home studio. I have a subwoofer placed under my desk which is constructed of laminated pressboard about 3/4" thick. I realize that some of the sound waves are reflected off this surface and some are absorbed. The absorbed frequencies (at least the low ones) can be felt by placing my palm on the desk. My question is: Does anyone have an estimation of what frequencies might be resonating through my desk or a way I can do a rough calculation?

I can't remember where I found it, but I remember seeing a chart showing the resonant frequencies of different types of wood. My aim is to help absorb these resonances in some way so that they do not interfere with what I'm hearing from the speakers. Any help on how to go about that (short of getting a foam desk :) )would also be appreciated.

welcome! as am i, although i am more of a mad scientist when it comes to these things, than a professional.

what i do (when it comes to absorbing that stuff) is i place some foam underneath the monitors.

it helps, enough for what i'm looking for...but probably not good enough for someone who is REALLY attentive to these things.

as for the frequencies, i have no idea! but i am looking forward to finding out:

Hi, and welcome!

More important that the kind of wood you're using, I'd say the length of your desk surface is probably the most important thing here. If you've got the bad luck to have a desk with the required length to accommodate the resonation you don't want, I'd say either move the stuff on your desk so that nothing is standing in the centre or at quarters, or cut a length off your desk (which you probably don't want to do).

I had the same problem a few years ago with a home theater system. I took duct tape with weigths and taped them to the bottom of the desk. True story! Worked like a charm, and broke the resonation.

Hi, and welcome!