Science Forums

Honeypots

Well, I'm no big expert on honeypots and honeynets, but this is the honeypots part of the discussion in the "What is the difference between honeypot and honeynet" topic.

As i was saying, I'm no big expert. Last time I layed with honeypots is when we setup a windows machine infected with blaster and used honeypots to show that we could infact detect an infected windows machine on our network and then use the opened volnurability to infact cure the machine of the worm. The project was called HackBack Honeypots, and we submitted it for the intercollege contest where the winners get to present at this huge conference and the winners of that get a decent sum of money and special recognition (that was this spring) and although we didnt get the spot in the show, we did get to learn a little honeypots in the process (P.S. the projects that won were a lot worse then ours, but thats how it plays out most of the time, so...)