Science Forums

Musings On Time And Gravity

ThoughtSpace

let me preface this by fully admitting that I have no background in physics and am a layman at best. I am not making a claim that I have solved anything or have any definitive proof. It is simply a break down of some thoughts I've had and would welcome any and all feedback, no matter how painful that may be to me.

It is also difficult to relay in written form what I'm actually thinking as I generally see it as a whole concept and it can be frustrating to break it down in coherent ways that can be followed easily by others. To that end I'll simply write out each step of my thought process as it led me.

It started with pondering about time and specifically, time dilation. Time dilation is a proven phenomena. There is no question that it occurs. The famous experiment where two clocks were synchronized and one of the two was placed on a plane clearly showed that time dilation is a fact. Einstein's calculations account for the dilation and as I understand it SR cannot work without it. Which led to wonder why the dilation works.

So, time dilation is a fact and mathematics support and rely on it . But this led to the question; How do we measure time? After much reading and researching I found time is measured by giving a state of change a constant in relation to other known constant states of change or by calculations using the speed of light. For instance, after breaking down predictable large and easily noticeable changes in state, a fraction of that state became an acceptable measurement. Days to hours to minutes to seconds. Once a measurement was established devices were created that gave regular, countable changes in state that were then interpreted in to accepted measurements. For example; a quartz crystal to which a current is applied vibrates X amount of times in an accepted second therefore count the vibration equal to one second to measure a second.