Science Forums

Remote Sensor Technology

erich

Dear Earth science thread,

I would like to gather your collective wisdom on state of the art and near term developments on satellite & aerial remote sensors for agriculture.

I have a call in to be briefed by Dr. Kyle McDonald at JPL this week and will report back after that. I was referred to him by Dr. Paul Hepperly at Rodale Inst.

I'm new to the subject, I've read about a new moisture satellite, IIRC called Aquos , but I'm most interested to hear of any ideas for GHG soil emissions CO2, N2O, CH4, plant leaf temperature, Aerosol / photosynthesis interactions, and any proxy measurements .

I'm speaking , NEXT WEEK, at the first North American Biochar conference in Boulder and would like to add these technologie's potential to arrogate , validate and monitor soil carbon sequestration and crop benefits of biochar soil amendments.

Cheers,

Erich

• 3 weeks later...

The SMAP , soil moisture active pasive mission, will see soil surface temps and soil moisture to 3 feet deep, Surface & Root zone soil moisture & Carbon Net Ecosystem Exchange

SMAP: Mission

On the re-boot of the OCO (orbital carbon observer) we will be able to read the Carbon sources & Sinks from the tree tops down at 2 1/2 Acre resolution. it will join a constellation of other NASA Earth-observing satellites known as the "A-Train" that fly in formation and cross the Equator every afternoon. OCO will be the sixth satellite in the A-Train, joining five other NASA satellites: Aqua, Cloudsat, Calipso, Parasol and Aura.

A large enough array of other sensor technologies may allow zeroing in on particular GHG emissions,

N2O & CH4 & CO2 by absorption lidar.

Mid-infrared laser absorption spectrometers /diode laser based detection of CO, N2O and NO.

This seems to present a developing tool, along with other proxy measurements, for soil carbon.