Science Forums

Virginia Field Trials; proposals & questions

erich

Dearest Char Advocates,

Please review, edit, add your thoughts , concerns, to this proposal I plan to send out this week to all my TP contacts, the academics, private companies,

Ag & fertilizer companies and many others I have collaborated with.

Thanks for you attention

Erich

Virginia Field Trials; proposals & questions

Dear VT folks & others,

I have been advocating char for 2 1/2 years. My review of the soils work leads me to the proposals and questions below.

Please share your thoughts and experiences as how to best structure a 1/2 acre biochar field study/demonstration. I will be using Biocarbon kindly offered by Doug Guyer of Carbon Diversion.

Ten research priorities were identified at the IBI conference, The following priorities

I would hope to address:

• 1- Economy research/market research

• 2- plant+soil research depending on biochar

• 5- field trials

• 8- application to soil (depending on agricultural or other

systems/remediation`)

The intent is representing a standard biocarbon product, at differing application rates, that would help Carbon Diversion to establish a basis for agriculture productivity, retail products and Green awareness campaigns.

On Soil Trials :

I've seen no Biochar soil studies which incorporate MYC/

VAM inoculates to their treatment groups.

The Carbon Charcoal Group's Carbon-Based Soil Amendment (CSA), which is in on going plot trial at VT;

( Nitrogen Management and the Effects of Compost Tea on Organic Irish

Potato and Sweet Corn

http://mail.google.com/mail/?ui=2&ik=2d31956211&view=att&th=11ce7b0bf4838d9a&attid=0.1&disp=vah

"Subplots (two beds, 23 m long) were in-row placement of CSA granules at planting—control (no CSA) and CSA applied at

22-33 kg/ha (30#/Acre) CSA is a proprietary product composed of dehydrated compost tea absorbed on charcoal." )

This study only states compost tea amended char, but I am told by the