Science Forums

Matter & Energy

Hi.

I'm an aspiring science fiction writer and I'm currently developing a story in which scientists have

created the first teleportation device. I am having a somewhat difficult time as to how I want it

to work. I'm considering using a matter-energy conversion type of teleporter, which involves

converting a person into energy and sending it like a radio signal, in which that person will travel

at the speed of light. Once the person arrives at the destination, the energy is reconverted back

into matter. But there are some things about this theorical technology that I find questionable.

For example, if you don't convert an individual into energy, you have a large chunck of matter

such as a light adult weighing about sixty kilograms that needs to be put into some sort of

suspension matrix for transportation. Okay, on to more ethical implications on this theorical

technology. Let's say that John Doe undergoes teleportation by converting him into energy and

back into matter once he's reached his destination, would it still be the same person? A replica,

maybe? Perhaps it's a matter of semantics; a replica may be an imprecise term. The assumption

is that the John Doe who steps off the teleportation device will for all intent and purpose be the

exact same as the person who stepped on, with all his physical features, thought processes,

personality and memory, even his brainwave patterns. However, I think that under this

technological theory, it will still be a reconstruction of the original, NOT the original itself.

I am aware of the fact that today's use of teleportation requires quantum entanglements, but I

would like to create my own type of teleporter, this is afterall, science fiction. The thing that

troubles me is the matter-energy conversion process plausible? That is, will it ensure and

preserve personal survival (life) or death?

Thoughts anyone?

Hi Whitestar -