Science Forums

DIY hydroponics

Moontanman

Lets work out a plan that would allow a person with limited space to grow a significant amount of vegetables and protein for their own consumption. I admit I have some but limited experience in this so those of you who have a better grasp of the idea please contribute. What I would like to be able to do is grow cool weather plants with hydroponics in the winter in a greenhouse and grow fish to fertilize the plants. How big and how much is two of the basic questions we need to answer. I'm sure there are many more questions and answers to be found here.

I have no real experience with hydroponics, I have dealt with some bog/marsh plants as well as emergent aquatic plants. You may want to check out Ecology of the Planted Aquarium: A Practical Manual and Scientific Treatise for the Home Aquarium By Diana Walstad. (Not the most common book available in aquarium shops, but available from Amazon.com).It has some great charts and descriptions of specific nutrient needs for plants as well as average amounts of these nutrients in fish wastes and foods. May be a decent start to determine basic plant to fish ratios.

I have no real experience with hydroponics, I have dealt with some bog/marsh plants as well as emergent aquatic plants. You may want to check out Ecology of the Planted Aquarium: A Practical Manual and Scientific Treatise for the Home Aquarium By Diana Walstad. (Not the most common book available in aquarium shops, but available from Amazon.com).It has some great charts and descriptions of specific nutrient needs for plants as well as average amounts of these nutrients in fish wastes and foods. May be a decent start to determine basic plant to fish ratios.