Science Forums

Heterocyclic Aromatic Compounds

Chemspiration

:) I would like to take the time to introduce my self. Hi I'm a witty newbie that enjoys the complexities of our universe, Ok now that that is over. I gonna ask a serious question that is bothering me.

The benzene structure or the heterocylcic structure is closed off with Hydrogen in every position around the structure, If you substitute the bottom H, with CH3 you have toluene or methylbenzene or phenylmethane, Furthermore if you substitute that same CH3 side chain with a Nitrogen, thus you have created Pyridine.

Question 1. In which manner is the positioning of the structures numbered.. For example the bottom hydrogen in the benzen structure would be classified as the what # position

furthermore were does the numbering start.

Question 2. how does one break the bond of the bottom hydrogen without disturbing the others bonds that are in synchronization. I believe that all the carbons have one and a half bonds in this particular structure. so how do you substitute the hydrogen for a nitrogen...

thanks Chemspiration :)

ah....

i know answer one....

no matter where the functional group is, you name it so the the sum of these numbers are the lowest.

if there is only one functional group attached to it, it would be just one, if two, you gotta consider where to start so that the sum of these positions are the lowest.

question two seems rather complicated to me...

so how many functional groups are in benzene???? :D

I agree with Tim_Lou on 1 as well. From my physics training... If you have one methyl

group, it is quite arbitrarily simple. The convention is to label it 1. When there are more

branches, you arrange the ring so as to have the second in the lowest position. :(

For 2, I could go into QM though I think that might be more in depth than you like. The

simpler version would be depending on the amount of energy, the nearby bonds would be