Science Forums

Matter & Energy

Hello.

I'm an aspiring sci-fi writer and I'm currently developing a story in which scientists have

created the first teleportation device. I am having a somewhat difficult time as to how I

want it to work. I'm thinking of using a matter-energy conversion type of teleporter, but

there are some things about this theorical technology that I find questionable.

For example, if you don't convert an individual into energy, you still have a blob of atoms

weighing several kilograms that need to be put into some sort of suspension matrix for

transportation. What makes this all the more dangerous is that these atoms will have

considerable mass, and will be affected by environmental variables such as gravity and

atmospheric drag. Since they'll have substantial mass, they won't be able to travel at any

significant percentage of light speed, making for a longer trip, and unless they can be

slowed somehow, will probably impact the planetary surface at speeds equivalent to that

of a meteorite. Not a pretty prospect.

Okay on to more ethical implications on this theorical technology. Let's say that John

Doe undergoes teleportation by converting him into energy and back into matter, would it

still be the same person? Perhaps it's a matter of semantics; a replica may be an imprecise

term. The assumption is that the John Doe who steps off the teleportation device will for

all intent and purpose be the exact same as the person who stepped on, with all his

physical features, thought processes, personality and memory, even his brainwave

patterns -- but I think that under this technological theory, it will still be a reconstruction

of the original, NOT the original.

Thoughts anyone?