Science Forums

Psychology and its detractors

coberst

Psychology and its detractors

I am a retired electronics engineer who was, until recently, totally ignorant of psychology except for the standard pop-psychology that seems to be universally the norm.

In the last few years I have devoted a good bit of time trying to comprehend psychology, both its history and its present state. During this short period I have posted on various forums many short threads about what I have learned about this science.

A very distinctive and common response has resulted. Almost everyone who responds is completely negative about psychology. It is also apparent that they are totally ignorant of this science except for the common pop-psychology knowledge.

I suspect that the degree of ignorance of psychology may be about as total as is the degree of ignorance of QM (quantum mechanics). However everyone seems to hold QM in high regard whereas almost everyone holds contempt for psychology.

Does anyone here have a considered opinion as to why this is true, assuming you agree it is true?

A very distinctive and common response has resulted. Almost everyone who responds is completely negative about psychology. It is also apparent that they are totally ignorant of this science except for the common pop-psychology knowledge.
An interesting psychological analysis can be formulated around this perception:

This general perception of ignorance in others can probably be traced to a Defense Mechanism that is caused by the Superego's inability to surpress the Id. The fact that the Id is winning in this battle is exposed by the tendency to gauge the perception as being extreme:

I suspect that the degree of ignorance of psychology may be about as total as is the degree of ignorance of QM (quantum mechanics).

Moreover, this perception is being subliminally twisted into direct persecution:

However everyone seems to hold QM in high regard whereas almost everyone holds contempt for psychology.